u2october's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bonnie Raitt and Stephen Hawking Walk Into a Bar

There are certain times in life when you have to force yourself to take the next step. I did such a thing this past week when I put down a deposit on an apartment. It is a really sweet place right on the water on a peninsula of a tributary of the Chesapeake Bay. I can walk down my stairs, out the door, and be standing on the shoreline in under 30 seconds. The apartment is technically a one-bedroom, but is the biggest one bedroom I've seen in a long time. It is newly renovated, and I can see the water from my window.

It has enough space if I have a roommate come to finish writing a book, and for the overnight visits from the kids. There is a pool, a community game room, and even an on site camp store. All in all, it is a really fantastic place. I should be excited.

But I'm not.

All I can think about is how the life we built over the last fifteen years is ending. I'm moving out of the first house either of us ever bought, and watching the asshole who made sure we split up for good partially move in. He won't even commit to moving in because that would require some actual commitment or responsibility from him.

But I digress. I can honestly say that I tried everything I could to save our marriage. I put it all out on the table. At the end of the day, she decided the grass was greener, and in the immortal words of Bonnie Raitt, you can't make someone's heart feel something it won't.

So in three short weeks, ten days before Christmas, I will start the next chapter, ready or not. At least one thing is for certain: time travel does not occur in my lifetime, because there's no way I'd ever let myself go through this last fifteen months if I had the chance to change it.

Thanks Stephen Hawking.

:end transmission:

23:28 - 11.19.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

papotheclown