u2october's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Petty Thoughts

I'm currently sitting at a desk in the office of a homeless shelter I work per diem at a few times a month. Someone had an emergency, so I am covering for a few hours until the night shift person comes in at midnight. It isn't a bad gig. I have actually found it to be pretty rewarding to be on the other side of the equation after being homeless myself for several months about twenty years ago.

This is an emergency housing shelter with 32 beds - 6 for women and 28 for men. It is often at capacity, especially in winter months. Most nights, it is quiet, but there are a few nights here and there where things can get a bit interesting. To date, I have only had to call law enforcement once to exit someone from the program. Other than that, things usually run pretty smoothly.

Tom Petty once famously wrote: The waiting is the hardest part. The man was a prophet. As I get older, a lot of the lyrics he wrote just hit harder.

Most things I worry about never happen anyway.

You can't see what you don't know
Struggled to see past my nose
Always had more dogs than bones
I could never wear those clothes

Started out for god knows where
Guess I'll know when I get there

Speaking of waiting, I'm still waiting to hear about the job I interviewed at last Friday. That was interview number 4. It would be fantastic if I could get a call back with an offer. I'm beyond ready to move on into bigger and better things.

:end transmission:

21:41 - 04.29.23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

papotheclown