u2october's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Incoming

Another year in the books. As years go, 2017 was pretty forgettable. At work, it was a combination of an inept boss and a shoulder injury that will be remembered. One is gone, and the other keeps hanging around being a nuisance. The doctor says shoulder injuries tend to do that.

I don't like new year's resolutions, as I see them as shut that we ought to do when life calls for it, but we're too chickenshit to do it at the time. I do intend to be healthier in mind and body, and to explore nature more often.

I am looking forward to seeing my friend Ryan for the first time in many years. He is embarking on a long term road trip through which I plan to live vicariously. I am excited for him to come here. I need to clean the place up. Three kids and me not cleaning as much has kind of made it into an episode of hoarders in here. Then again, he is a writer. Ryan is a kindred spirit, and probably my closest confidant despite our distance. I'm looking forward to riding trains to Philly, DC, and maybe NYC to show him historical sites, anarchist cooperative bookstores, and awesome, gritty urban life.

We live in the country, but public trains take you everywhere here. I hope he stays for a while, but I know the wanderlust is very strong. 10 years ago, I might have lived the feral life. Sigh...

:end transmission:

14:58 - 01.01.18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

papotheclown